jump to navigation

Fanfiction meme October 8, 2008

Posted by Erin Ptah in Memes.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Sometimes it’s okay to pimp yourself out. Post a list of your top five favorite fics you’ve written, regardless of fandom or the reason you love them. This isn’t about the BEST things you’ve written, but what you LOVE most. Then tag five other people to do the same.

Sailor Moon/Hellsing

The woman with two hearts! Blessed are the pure. This one gets meta about Yumiko/Yumie’s mental condition and pokes fun at a towering stack of Sailor Moon anime clichés. A good combination.

Sailor Moon

The Sailor Senshi of Xyll saga. An epic about one of the systems that fell to Chaos, its five sailor senshi fighting a losing battle while the population fled to the Sol system. No longer on the Internet, and probably never will be again, because I don’t have the energy to rewrite it the way it deserves . . . and because the heroine was one Sailor Ptah, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to fully wash the Sue-ness away. But, oh, it had its moments.

Fake News

The Robert Report. The last couple of chapters, at least. My first attempt at TCR fic, and though it’s from Bobby’s POV, you can see early ideas about Stephen’s characterization: his loneliness, his obliviousness, the way he inspires affection even in people who think he’s a bit of an idiot, his conflicting desires to let Jon take care of him and make a name for himself outside of Jon’s shadow. Also, there’s a ghost!

Expecting/State of Grace. I get the impression that readers in general prefer Expecting – it was lighter, funnier, and less esoteric. In State of Grace, too, I had a lot of balls in the air, and towards the end you can see me starting to drop them. It’s the one I think needs more revision; that said, it’s also the one that interested me more, and that I had tons of fun researching. (Yes, I like research. Shut up.) So, rather than try to pick a favorite, I’m going to cheat and list them together.

Fake News/Zanna, Don’t!

Your Moment of Zanna. Because it was kind of hilarious to write straight!Stephen. And because I want a Zanna.

I almost went the cheesy route and named “The thing I’m going to post next” as one of the favorites. I always love whatever I’m working on at the moment. (At least, up until the point when I post it, after which I begin to suspect that it is the worst thing ever to grace the Internet. Between reader feedback and time, my views eventually settle somewhere more balanced.)

But in all seriousness: Ten Times The Doctor Met Sailor Pluto is gonna be a good one.

(To all fic writers who are reading this: You have been tagged. Go forth and meme.)

Comments»

1. klcthebookworm - October 9, 2008

Here’s mine. Actually, coming up with it was fun.

2. X - October 9, 2008

The only things I’ve successfully finished writing were some Utena filk songs that aren’t online anymore. Everything else was left incomplete.

3. shatunovaddict - May 23, 2009

Sorry to be commenting a kinda old post, but: omg. Zanna, Don’t! I have never met anyone else who has even heard of that musical! I love it! :]


Leave a Reply

