jump to navigation

I’ve got a pantomime horse disguise you can use. August 18, 2009

Posted by Erin Ptah in News Roundup.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Map of Europe with south facing up. Trippy.

Using the blogosphere to measure global happiness. I feel good about this. (There, I’ve done my part for the day.)

I Can Has Cheezburger: The MusicLOL. I cannot imagine this will be any good, but…

How long Bill Murray spend trapped in the time loop in Groundhog Day? Years and years, it turns out. (Gives me chills.)

ASCII cross-stitch sampler. Want.

Comments»

1. Nathan - August 18, 2009

It is weird to see Europe with south at the top, but it technically makes just as much sense as the way maps are drawn now. Wasn’t there a time when European maps tended to have east at the top, because that was the way to Jerusalem?

Erin Ptah - August 18, 2009

That would make sense, yeah. I don’t know why we’re so indoctrinated to see north as “up” now – you would think at least some groups would print them the other way around. In the Southern Hemisphere if nothing else.

Nathan - August 18, 2009

I guess the problem there is that the Northern Hemisphere dominated the Southern for so long, their map-making ways became standard.


Leave a Reply

