jump to navigation

A fandom polygamy manifesto October 22, 2010

Posted by Erin Ptah in Fandom, Meta.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’ve been working out a fandoms-as-relationships analogy in my head for a while now; this post has prompted me to actually write it up XD

Hellsing, naturally, is my wife. We built a house together, which I come home to every night (well, except most Saturdays). The wild passion from when we first met has settled into a slow burn, leaving us familiar and profoundly comfortable with each other.

Fake news is my other primary partner. There’s a condo involved, but we don’t spend much time there; we’re kind of all over the place. We’ve had fixed schedules sometimes, but it doesn’t last; mostly we just get together on a regular basis, and stay up talking to unholy hours in the morning.

Sailor Moon is my high school sweetheart. (The one I’ve known since elementary school.) We’re not technically together, but we still end up hooking up whenever she’s in town, and it’s invariably really hot. Every once in a while I wonder if this is going to be the time when the magic goes away…nope, still there.

I’ve had a bunch of hookups and one-night stands along the way, and though nobody else has lasted this long, we tend to part as friends. (Doctor Who might come closest to being a long-term secondary, along with the R.O.D franchise.) None of my primary partners have problems with each other; in fact, I wouldn’t get on with them nearly as well if we didn’t have such great threesomes.

Comments»

1. X - October 23, 2010

Didn’t know you’d found a source for the SeraMyu! My favorite is #5 so far, though the remake is also pretty good.


Leave a Reply

