jump to navigation

Moms, making manga, Madoka, and menschdom July 31, 2011

Posted by Erin Ptah in Personal.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Naturally, no sooner does LJ come back online than I head off to Otakon, where all I have is a hotel connection that’s slowed to a crawl with the pressure of all the other congoers. Sigh.

Con was fun, if exhausting. My parents usually come down to the city, sit outside the convention center, and people-watch. This year they actually registered, and had a great time bopping around at the Help For Parents panel and various shows they thought looked promising. Mom bought herself a Hello Kitty plushie, while Dad picked up one of the paper Saiyan-hair hats that were going around. As usual, I helped run the Create a Comic Project‘s Make a Manga tournament; they chilled in the audience, and Mom actually won in one of the categories, without any help on my end. I have no idea what she’s going to do with her new Armitage DVDs ^_^;

Madoka premiere was a thing of beauty. Huge crowded room, tons of people who know exactly what’s coming and are excited at all the bits you are, cheering and booing and clapping at all the right moments. (Outburst of applause for Charlotte, just because we were so caught up in the moment. Followed by even more applause for Homura charging to the rescue a few minutes later.) Followed by a creator Q&A; I’m still kicking myself for not coming up with a question (who was Walpurgis?) until the line to ask was closed.

Spent enough time at the manga library that the staff got attached to my hellhound plushie. (It happens. He’s a cutie.) After flipping through a couple of unengaging duds, stumbled across Her Majesty’s Dog, which caters to my id so beautifully that I am mildly disappointed none of you have recced it to me before. Straight to the top of my “if I had money, I would buy this” list. Also, Patrick and Hyoue need to be BFFs.

Then at last I get back and find out that while I’ve been in MD, Jon Stewart went to Afghanistan? He doesn’t plan to mention it on the show; I hope he hasn’t thought to forbid Stephen from bringing it up, because that is some kind of bravery and character right there. The most frightening thing I’ve faced in the past week is a bitey cat.

This post may be a little disorganized. Did I mention I was tired?

Photospam of the hellhound to come.

Comments»

1. ellefnjElle - August 1, 2011

Wow! Glad you had a great time tho! And how awesome that your parents joined in too!! :)


Leave a Reply

