jump to navigation

Fannish things of note (Stargate, Glee, bingos and bigbangs) September 6, 2011

Posted by Erin Ptah in Personal, Works Roundup.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

What I’ve been occupied with on the fannish side of things…

1) Stargate SG-1. Picked up while raiding my roommate’s (stellar_dust’s) DVD collection for background viewing. I started with kribban’s list of worthwhile episodes, then I showed stellar_dust the list and she was scandalized, and is currently in the process of making me go back and watch all the episodes she can’t believe the list skipped.

I’ve heard people talk about watching shows where they’re not deeply invested in the plot or the characterization, just taking them as light no-thought-required background entertainment, but this is the first time I’ve managed to experience it firsthand. It’s a weird feeling. Normally my completist impulses are really strong, and now they’re just…off.

I think I would have enjoyed Torchwood more if I’d watched it this way, rather than trying to care like I do about Doctor Who.

2) Glee. I’ve only seen the first season (it was all Netflix had), but I finally made the decision to stop caring about being spoiled, in the name of seeking out femslash.

This fandom has so much femslash. It has tropey, id-ficcy femslash. It has epic multipart femslash. It has canon femslash. It summoned enough femslash interest in one place for an entire bigbang. Stars in my eyes, folks. Stars.

3) Speaking of bigbangs. I signed up for femmeslash_bang, a multifandom f/f challenge with a 20K word minimum, with a Homura/Madoka plotbunny in hand.

Here’s the thing. I’ve only written fic that long in two fandoms, ever. And I haven’t written fic that long that didn’t feature character!Colbert since I was in middle school. (My golden age of Sailor Moon epics.) And I’ve never written fic that long on demand at all.

But I think this series, and this pairing, has grabbed me enough that I can pull it off. (And I better not have jinxed the whole thing by saying so.)

4) And speaking of fic challenges. My hc_bingo output is puttering along nicely. One hiccup: I had a fill for “poisoning” that would have completed a straight-line bingo, but took it out because it fit one of the complicated bonuses, and ever since I’ve been at a loss for how to replace it.

So, uh. Anyone around with a character!Colbert poison-related plotbunny they’ve always wanted someone to write?

(Or maybe I’ll just fill it by chronicling The Epic Saga of Stephen Versus The Jellyfish.)

Comments»

1. X - September 6, 2011

Make his pet tentacle monster actually a mutated jellyfish. Stephen is allergic. So now their love has to overcome the tragic barrier of painful stings in private places.


Leave a Reply

