jump to navigation

A little religion-based facepalming for your evening May 27, 2013

Posted by Erin Ptah in News Roundup.
Tags: , ,
trackback

“And yes, those directives include the claim that ‘[t]he Church’s defense of life encompasses the unborn’ and a mandate to uphold ‘the sanctity of life ‘from the moment of conception until death.” But come on. That obviously does not apply when Catholic Health Initiatives, the Church-affiliated organization that runs the Church-affiliated St. Thomas More Hospital where a young woman and her two unborn fetuses died, is the lead defendant in a lawsuit.

“I grew up in a conservative area and had internalized some challenging attitudes about abortion, poverty, and the death penalty—attitudes aligned with policy that worked against my (and my family’s) interests. Still, I discovered that I was ready to drop everything for a friend who needed my help. Eventually, I learned to hold this level of compassion for complete strangers, too. […] Here are some things I learned when I began to leave my assumptions behind.”

I am done making excuses for the pro-life movement. I am done trying to explain that the movement is not anti-woman. I am done trying to insist that the movement really is simply trying to “save unborn babies.” I’m done because it’s not true. The pro-life movement supports the exact policies that will keep abortion rates high.”

Texas School District Investigates Muslim Bias in School, Finds Christian Bias Instead: A perfect example of fear-mongering backfiring.”

“This week, a Republican state lawmaker who had backed the voucher system decided to change her mind. Apparently, she thought public funding for religious education was a great idea, right up until she learned that her religion wasn’t the only one that might benefit.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

