jump to navigation

No justice, no peace December 5, 2014

Posted by Erin Ptah in News Roundup.
Tags: ,
trackback

“At a fancy restaurant [black minister Jesse Routté] asked the staff what would happen if a ‘Negro gentleman comes in here and sits down to eat.’ The reply: ‘No negro would dare to come in here to eat.'”

“She told him she would rather pick him up from the police station than identify his body at a morgue.

“Later that year, maybe 30 yards to the left of Main Building, security routinely entered my office asking for my ID despite my name on the door and pictures of me, my Mama, and them all over my desk. In that same building, one floor lower, after I got my first book deal, I was told by another senior white member of my department that it was ‘all right’ if I spoke to him ‘in ebonics.'”

“A Kentucky fire chief is being criticized for racist comments after he refused to help a family of stranded motorists because they were black, and then suggested that an Asian-American television reporter did not understand English.”

“In the last four years, blacks have held community protests against violence in Chicago; New York; Newark, New Jersey; Pittsburgh; Saginaw, Michigan; and Gary, Indiana. Indeed, there’s a whole catalog of movies, albums, and sermons from a generation of directors, musicians, and religious leaders, each urging peace and order. You may not have noticed black protests against crime and violence, but that doesn’t mean they haven’t happened.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

