jump to navigation

Holiday chaos: personal writing/drawing version December 4, 2015

Posted by Erin Ptah in But I'm A Cat Person, Leif & Thorn, Personal.
Tags: ,
trackback

First December ever where I’ve had a full-time job throughout. Which is great financial-stability-wise, and not bad personal-fulfillment-wise, either.

As for Internet/artistic/fannish work…well, I only just finished with November’s Patreon rewards, which gives you a good idea of how under-control things are -_-

Current art commissions are inching forward. Other art is…happening. Writing is almost entirely at a standstill. I’ve done a few hundred words here and there, but haven’t had any blocks of uninterrupted thinking time long enough to finish anything. (Weekends keep getting broken up by tasks like “laundry” and “grocery shopping.”)

BICP is in an important place story-wise, which means each page also requires a Block of Uninterrupted Thinking Time to do properly. On the plus side, I know exactly what the plot is doing right now! It just takes coordination to pull off. But I am keeping up the two-pages-at-some-point-every-week schedule, dammit.

Leif & Thorn‘s four-panel format means it’s easier to come up with a few gags and get them sketched during my lunch break. And even that is kinda scattered right now. In the storyline I’m working on, I keep going “wait, there’s something else that has to be revealed/established/joked about before the strip I just drew,” and then backtracking.

Seriously, here’s the current order of the strips in the sketchbook: 5, 6, 7, 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 4, 11, 12. At least with this strip there’s enough of a buffer uploaded ahead-of-time that I can get away with it….

Did some holiday fanart sketches on the train this morning, too. Fingers crossed that I can scan and color them over the weekend.

(btw, if anyone wants to inject some insta-joy into my life, I would love for other people to draw fanart of BICP/L&T. If it’s on Deviantart I will +fav it, if it’s on Tumblr I will reblog it, and no matter where it is I will adore it.)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

