jump to navigation

My keyboard went fwoomph, so I got a teeny computer. September 9, 2016

Posted by Erin Ptah in Personal.
Tags:
trackback

Cheapest lil’ model the Best Buy had in stock. Doesn’t weigh much more than an actual paper notebook. I haven’t worked on a screen this small since the era of the text-only interface. (And/or had the screensaver that this usericon mimics.)

My main computer has the biggest screen a laptop can handle, and a huge chassis to hold it up. It’s a tank. It could eat this thing for breakfast.

(All my devices get sci-fi names. The big laptop is Homura. The bitty one is now Nagisa.)

It was advertised as having a 32GB hard drive. Which, in practice, means 28. Which, since it has an operating system installed on it, left 15 for…using. I installed a couple programs and copied over about 2% of my music collection, so within an hour of being started up, it was down to 10.

So, yeah, I’m going to be light on the “new art” front for a week or so. The main laptop is nigh-unusable for art programs when half my keyboard shortcuts are muted, and I’m not even sure the tiny one could handle the weight of a Photoshop install, let alone find space to save the art afterward.

But I can keep on top of the Internet in the meantime, and get a backlog of actual drawing in physical sketchbooks…and maybe do some writing for a change?

Seriously, it feels like I could snap this thing in half with my bare hands if I really tried. It’s adorable.

Comments»

1. markrhunter - September 10, 2016

I recently went through the same thing. I bought one of those little netbooks so I could write on the go, then my big laptop died … and I discovered I didn’t like working only on the tiny computer, at all.


Leave a Reply

